Program News

MUSICAL THEATRE MELODIES - 1st August - "Goodbye Mr. Chips" introduced by Leslie Bricusse

Rob Morrison's next "Musical Theatre Melodies" broadcast on Tuesday, 1st August at 9 p.m. will feature Leslie Bricusse's Goodbye Mr. Chips, (based on the novel by James Hilton), from the 1982 Chichester Festival Theatre cast recording starring John Mills, Collette Gleeson and Nigel Stock with Robert Meadmore, Richard Freeman, Richard Evans, Paul Hardwick and Michael Sadler.

This will be preceded by a "live" introduction to the musical (via telephone) from the award-winning composer/lyricist - Leslie Bricusse.

The remainder of the programme wil feature songs and musical highlights from the original 1969 MGM film soundtrack recording of Goodbye Mr. Chips, starring Peter O'Toole and Petula Clark.