Program News

Musical Theatre Melodies - 21st Jan - "A Bunch of Ratbags"

Rob Morrison's next "Musical Theatre Melodies" broadcast on Tuesday, 21st January at 9 p.m. will feature the Australian musical, A Bunch of Ratbags, with music and lyrics by Peter Pinne and book and additional lyrics by Don Battye, (based on the novel by William Dick), from the 2005 Magnormos Melbourne revival cast recording with Liam Pederson, Lyall Brooks, Jessica Enes, Zen Ledden, Nikki Minster, Ben Nicholas, Abi Richardson, Gregory Ross, Steve Simmons and Louise Van Veenendaal; plus a 1966 recording of the musical's Theme performed by The Strangers.

This will be preceded by a telephone interview with the show's composer/lyricist and Australian Musical Theatre historian Peter Pinne from Brisbane discussing the background performance history of the musical.


The remainder of the broadcast will feature additional songs from the original 1966 Melbourne cast recording of ... Ratbags that were subsequently cut from the revised version of the show, plus contemporaneous 1960s "cover versions" of songs from the score performed by Joan Clarke, Gordon Chater with Miriam Karlin and James Smilie on T.V. and radio. 


Contact Us  

Inner North East Community Radio Inc (3INR)

Address: Shop 38, Warringal Shopping Centre, Burgundy St, Heidelberg

Postal: PO Box 410, Heidelberg Vic 3084 Australia

Tel: 9457 1718

Fax: 9457 4674

Email: [email protected]