Program News

MUSICAL THEATRE MELODIES - 26th July - "The Geisha"

Rob Morrison's next "Musical Theatre Melodies" broadcast on Tuesday, 26th July at 9 p.m. will pay a 120th Anniversary tribute to Sidney Jones and Harry Greenbank's The Geisha, ("A Story of a Tea House" - with additional music by Lionel Monckton and James Philip), from the 1998 London studio cast recording featuring Lillian Watson, Christopher Maltman, Sarah Walker, Richard Suart, Sarah Vivian, Michael Fitchew and Jozik Koc with the New London Orchestra and Light Opera Chorus conducted by Ronald Corp.

The remainder of the broadcast will feature song selections from Sidney Jones, Paul Rubens and Adrian Ross's The Happy Day, from the original 1916 London cast recordings starring Jose Collins, Thorpe Bates, Unity More and Winifred Barnes.